Digital Access Committee


kevin cawley.jpgCommittee Charge

The Digital Access Committee (DAC) identifies metadata guidelines, best practices, and protocols for making metadata and content accessible via the Catholic Portal.

2016/17 goals:

  • Compare the resources and attributes (freely available, subject or general, functionality) of the Catholic Portal with those of other collaborative digital libraries, repositories, and/or portals. Done in collaboration with Collections.
  • Provide a way for users to make suggestions to related content (for example, "links to resources," portal resources, or collections.
  • Assist members in making their records describing full text content available in the portal (for example, collections in the "List of Selected CRRA Member Digital Collections"). Harvest records from four members or three new platforms.
  • Collaborate with metadata group to define standard for describing digital collections to get placeholder records into Portal.
  • Revisit the scope and functionality of the portal through focus groups at member institutions. Identify protocols and roll out to members for participation. Done in collaboration with Collections, Liaisons, and Scholars.
  • Review and revise website content related to the portal infrastructure. Done in collaboration with Collections.
  • Implement strategies for making the DAC/Morgan-developed tool for determining "rare" available. Done in collaboration with Collections.

View this committee's accomplishments for 2015/16.

(Members only: For minutes and documentation, see Agendas and Minutes.)



  1. Kevin Cawley Member (2013/14 – 2015/16); Chair (2016/17 – 2018/19)
  2. Sharon Bolger (2016/17 – 2018/19)
  3. Demian Katz, Chair (2012/13 – 2015/16); Member (2016/17 - 2018/19)
  4. Amanda Mita (2015/16 – 2017/18)
  5. Eric Lease Morgan (2013/14 – 2018/19)
  6. Gina Solares (2017/18– 2018/19)
  7. Hannah Miller (2016/17 – 2018/19)

Work Completed

Metadata Advisory Subcommittee

  1. Shana McDanold, Subcommittee Chair, Georgetown University
  2. Alan Delozier, Seton Hall University
  3. Demian Katz, Villanova University
  4. Joan Milligan, University of Dayton
  5. Eric Lease Morgan, University of Notre Dame
  6. Asheleigh Perry, Georgetown University
  7. David Richtmyer, Boston College
  8. Julie Shenk, Mount Saint Mary's University
  9. Gina Solares, University of San Francisco
  10. Lynn Whittenberger, Marquette University